District of Columbia
New York City
|Alabama||§13A-8-90||May 4, 2008||
First offense is a Class A Misdemeanor: up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine or both. Subsequent offenses are Class C Felonies: up to ten years in jail and a $5,000 fine or both.
|Arizona||Arizona Revised Statutes: § 13-3723||April 7, 2004||
Class 1 Misdemeanor.
April 15, 2005
Class A Misdemeanor: One year in jail, $1000 fine, or both.
|California||Cal Pen Code: § 653z
Theater Owners Immunity: § 490.5
|October 2, 2003||
|Colorado||CRA § 18-4-516||May 21, 2004||
Class 1 Misdemeanor with minimum of six months of jail and $500 fine and maximum of 18 months and $5000 fine.
|Connecticut||Public Act 04-187||June 3, 2004||
Class B misdemeanor:
|Delaware||SB 321||June 28, 2006||
Extraordinary misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $50,000.
|District of Columbia||D.C. Code: § 22-3214.02||October 31, 1995||
Imprisonment for not more than 90 days and/or fine not more than $300.
|Florida||Fla. Stat: § 540.12||June 24, 2004||
First offense: First Degree Misdemeanor [maximum penalty of one year in jail and a $1,000 fine].
|Georgia||O.C.G.A.: § 16-8-62||May 17, 2004||
First offense: Misdemeanor [imprisonment for up to one year in jail, $1,000 fine or both].
|Hawaii||Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS):
Chapter 708 Definitions/ penalty.
§ 663-2 Detention/ immunity.
|May 18, 2005||
Misdemeanor with 1 year in jail, $2000 fine or both.
|Idaho||§ 18-6901||April 1, 2005||
Class A Misdemeanor: One year in jail, $1000 fine or both.
|Illinois||720 ILCS 5/21-10||July 24, 2004||
Class 4 Felony with up to three years in jail and $25,000 fine.
|Indiana||Indiana Code 35-33-6-1||May 3, 2005||
Class B Misdemeanor: 180 days in jail, $1000 fine or both.
KSA 51-303 detention/ immunity
|April 12, 2004||
First offense: Class A misdemeanor [imprisonment for up to one year in jail, a $2,500 fine, or both].
|Louisiana||R.S. 14:223.9||August 15, 2005.||
Two-tiered misdemeanor/ felony and The first offense up to six months in prison and up to a $500 fine, or both. A second or subsequent offense is a felony; up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000, or both.
|Maine||17 MRSA §3521- Detention
17-A MRSA §353, sub-§1C- Theft provision
17-A MRSA, Sub-§ 5D Penalty
|May 24, 2005
Effective mid-September 2005 depending on the session's end date.
Class D Misdemeanor: 1 year in prison, $2000 fine or both.
|Maryland||MD Criminal Law § 7-308. Theater Owner Immunity: MD Courts and Judicial Proceedings §5-402||April 27, 2004||
First Violation: Misdemeanor [imprisonment not to exceed one year or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both].
|Massachusetts||Chapter 266, § 143||November 16, 2004
Effective February 10, 2005
First offense: fine of up to $100,000 may be imposed, and/or maximum imprisonment not to exceed two years. Second offense: maximum fine of $250,000 and/or maximum of five years in prison.
MCL 777.16w (penalty classification)
MCL 600.2917a (Immunity)
|December 15, 2004
[Immunity statute pending on Governor's desk]
First offense: fine of up to $10,000 and/or maximum imprisonment of one year.
|Minnesota||Minnesota statute section 609.896 / Section 629.366 detention||June 3, 2005
Takes effect August 1, 2005
|Mississippi||Laws, 2005, ch. 336, § 1 § 97-23-92||July 1, 2005||
A person convicted of violating this section shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed six (6) months, or either.
|Missouri||§ 578.500||July 13, 2005||
Class A Misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and $1000 fine on first offense and Class D Felony with up to 4 years in jail and $5000 fine on second and subsequent offenses.
|Nevada||Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 205/ NRS 193.130 penalty section||October 1, 2005||
Two-tiered penalty. First Offense: Misdemeanor with up to six months in prison or a $1,000 fine or both. Category D Felony for second or subsequent offense: one to four years prison and a possible $5,000 fine.
|New Jersey||NJS .2C:21-21||September 10, 2004||
First offense: fine up to $25,000, and/or maximum imprisonment not to exceed 18 months.
|New Hampshire||Chapter 70 Laws of 2005
RSA 627:8-a Detention
RSA 644:19 Penalty
|January 1, 2006||
The first offense provides for up to one year in prison and up to a $1,200 fine, or both. A second or subsequent offense provides for up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $4,000, or both.
|New Mexico||2006 House Bill 577||July 1, 2006||
Misdemeanor with up to one year in jail and/or a $10,000 fine.
|New York||NY CLS Penal § 275.32
Theater Owner Immunity: NY CLS Gen Bus § 218
First offense: Misdemeanor with up to one year in prison and a $1,000 fine or both. Second and subsequent offenses: Felony Class E with up to four years in prison or a fine up to $5,000.
|North Carolina||§ 14-440.1||August 22, 2005, August 30, 2007||
a. A Class I felony, if the violation is a first offense under this section, with a minimum fine of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and up to one year in jail.
|Ohio||ORC § 2913.07
Theater Owner Immunity: ORC § 2935.041(D) - 2935.041(G)
|December 9, 2003||
First offense: Misdemeanor of First Degree [prison term of not more than 180 days and/or fine of not more than $1,000].
|Oklahoma||21 Okl. St. § 1741||April 19, 2004||
Up to a year in jail, a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.
|Oregon||164.882||July 7, 2005||
Misdemeanor with six months in prison, $2500 fine or both.
|Pennsylvania||18 Pa.C.S. § 4116.1||1994||
First offense: Misdemeanor of the first degree [imprisonment not more than five years and/or fine of not more than $10,000].
|Puerto Rico||Law Number 149 (new Penal Code of 2004) §s 197-A and 197-B||July 19, 2006||
Violation of the anti-camcording provision, 197-A, is a 3rd degree felony with potential jail time of three years and one day to eight years.
|Rhode Island||General Laws Title 11 Chapter 65 definitions 11-65-1/ penalty 11-65-2/ immunity 11-65-3||July 6, 2005||
Misdemeanor with one year in jail/$1000 fine or both.
|South Carolina||§ 16-11-911||May 23, 2005||
First offense provides for up to one year in prison and a $5,000 fine, or both. Second offense is up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine, or both. Third and subsequent offenses provide for up to three years in prison and a $15,000 fine, or both.
|Tennessee||TCA 39-14-153||April 5, 2004||
Class A misdemeanor
|Texas||§ 35.935 of Business & Commerce Code||May 13, 2005||
First Offense: Class A Misdemeanor with penalty of $4,000 fine, a year in jail or both.
|Utah||§ 13-10b-101, Utah Code Annotated 1953||March 14, 2007||
First Offense: Class A Misdemeanor-Up to one year in jail, $2,500 fine or both.
|Virginia||Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-187.2||April 5, 2004||
Class 1 misdemeanor
Gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $5,000 fine.
|West Virginia||§ 61-3-58||April 6, 2005||
Three Tiered Penalty based on intent (to be amended next session)
|Wisconsin||Wis. Stat. § 943.49||1999||
First offense: Class A misdemeanor [a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 9 months, or both].
Although the information found on this site is believed to be reliable, no warranty, expressed or implied, is made regarding the accuracy, adequacy, completeness, legality, reliability, or usefulness of any information, either isolated or in the aggregate. All warranties of any kind, express or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness, are disclaimed.